Illustration of the role of IPBES using the IUCN task force on systemic pesticides as an example

(Frédéric Chemay, FPS Health, Food Chain Safety and Environment, Belgium)

Context: IUCN TASK FORCE

- IUCN WORLD CONGRESS 2012: MOTION 171 IS ENGAGING IUCN
- Support for <u>a comprehensive scientific review</u> of the impact on global biodiversity of <u>systemic pesticides</u> by the joint task force of the IUCN Species Survival Commission (SSC) and the IUCN Commission on Ecosystem Management (CEM)

TF IUCN

- In recognition of the fact that the rapidly growing global use of highly persistent systemic pesticides unprecedentedly toxic to invertebrates (including pollinators) in particular - poses a major threat to biodiversity and ecosystem services,
- a number of independent scientists established a Task Force on Systemic Pesticides in 2009. This Task Force now resides under the IUCN Species Survival (SSC) and Ecosystem Management (CEM) Commissions.
- At present it numbers 49 experts and scientists from 15 countries in addition to a number of correspondents in others.

The World Impact Assessement

- 29 authors, all members of the TF (including Belgium)
- Review of 850 publications
- 7 chapters, including one on pollinators
- Outcomes of the WIA = major findings, knowledge gaps and policy recommandations.
- « Open acces » in June 2014(Paper publication in October,)
- A « Policy Paper » in June 2014
- Launch of the WIA: 4 Press Events- Manilla, Brussels (EU); Ottawa and Tokyo (24 to 26/6/14)

Example of a research by members of the TF

« Neonicotinoids, bee disorders and the sustainability of pollinator services »

Jeroen P van der Sluijs, **Noa Simon-Delso, Dave Goulson,** Laura Maxim, **Jean-Marc Bonmatin** and Luc P Belzunces Elsevier - COSUST-311;

Assessment on pollinators, pollination and food production (deliverable 3a)

- IPBES WP 2014 2018: FAO = main UN Agency concerned (but also UNEP)
- Belgium nominated 10 experts as candidates to contribute to the Platform (on a « excellency » basis)
- 5 from BE = Prof. Anne-Laure Jacquemart, Anton Van Derbeken, Noa Simon Delso, Dr. Martin Dermine + 5 others = Dr. David Goulson; Dr Jean Marc Bonmatin; Prof Jozef Settele; Dr. Madeleine Chagnon; Dr. Martin Wiemers; Dr Penelope Whitehorn;
- status list (NOT YET FINALIZED): 4 preselected experts = Prof David Goulson, pre-selected as leading author Dr. Madeleine Chagnon, pre-selected as leading author Dr. Martin Wiemers, pre-selected (but not as leading author) Prof. Joseph Settele, pre-selected as leading author